Meet the BYPY 2018 Winners

Laura Thursfield took the overall title of Birmingham Young Professional of the Year (BYPY) on Thursday 24th May as guests from the city’s business and professional services sector attended BPS Birmingham Future’s flagship awards ceremony at the ICC.

Each year BYPY celebrates the city’s finest talent across six award categories, with one category winner taking the highly-coveted title of Overall BYPY Winner. For the second time, 2018’s winner also received an Executive MBS from Aston University worth £20,000.

In addition to category winners, BYPY also recognised an exemplary figure and role model within the professional community with its Inspiring Leader award. Lorna Gavin, Head of Diversity, Inclusion & Corporate Responsibility at Gowling WLG, received this award.

The Aspiring Talent category, which recognises exceptional individuals aged between 16 and 24, was named as Daniel Goddard, Trainee Solicitor at Trowers & Hamlins LLP.

BYPY 2018 Winners

Overall Winner and Winner in the Finance category
Laura Thursfield, Mazars

HR, Recruitment & Training
Gishan Abeyratne, BCL Legal

Chrissie Wolfe, Irwin Mitchell

Marketing & Comms
Tru Powell, Alternative Events

Property & Construction
Kuli Bajwa, RPS Group

Sarah Mullett, Legal & General

Aspiring Talent
Daniel Goddard, Trowers and Hamlins LLP

Inspiring Leader
Lorna Gavin, Gowling WLG

For more information about BYPY, please visit:


BYPY 2017 finalists unveiled

The finalists for the 17th Birmingham Young Professional of the Year (BYPY) awards have been unveiled. The 2017 awards will again celebrate the city’s best professional services talent under the age of 35 across six categories before choosing an overall young professional of the year.

This winner will then spend a year as BYPY, promoting the city and working on new initiatives and programmes within the business community.

In addition, they will receive an executive MBA from Aston University worth £20,000.

A further four finalists have also been unveiled in the aspiring talent category which celebrates individuals aged 16 to 24 and who are currently in education or training for a professional services career.

Organiser BPS Birmingham Future will again recognise an inspiring leader who has shown unwavering commitment to the city.

The awards take place on May 18 at the ICC in Birmingham.

Mike Colledge, chairman of the BYPY 2017 committee, said: “BYPY highlights the incredible talent the sector has to offer and never has this been more apparent than in the standard of entries that we received this year.

“Our sifting panel has carried out one of the toughest jobs in the BYPY process and our finalists are some of the most driven and successful individuals that we’ve seen over the last 17 years.”

A judging panel, led by Midlands Engine chairman Sir John Peace, will spend a day grilling all of the finalists next week.

The final shortlist is…

Property & Construction:

  1. Charles Jones – Christie & Co
  2. Michael Parker – Gleeds
  3. Steve Townsend – Associated Architects


  1. Lauren Hartigan-Pritchard – Thursfields Solicitors
  2. Victoria Ball – Trowers & Hamlins
  3. Matthew Sharp – Wright Hassall
  4. HR, Recruitment & Training:
  5. Rob Markwell – Pitch Consultants
  6. Alexandra Barre – Idex
  7. Katy Hanby – KPMG


  1. Adam Rollason – Higgs & Sons
  2. Chris Taylor – Jasper Corporate Finance
  3. Andy Lee – NatWest Bank

Marketing & Communications:

  1. Ria Blagburn – GrowBeyond
  2. Nathan Wallis – Wesleyan
  3. David Glenwright – JC Social Media


  1. Glenn Karlsson – Green Frog Power
  2. James Nestoruk – Stickee Technology
  3. Dan Rice – Turn Partners

Aspiring Talent:

  1. Zara Fortt – Birmingham Metropolitan College
  2. Sarah Fraser – Deloitte
  3. Luke Billings – Aston University
  4. Brogan Kent – KPMG

For more information about BYPY, please visit: